lunchin’: v. joking/kidding, and sometimes it means lying. Example: “Ms. Curry, don’t listen to CR; she be lunchin’.”

neck: exclamation. This is yelled in a very annoying way when someone believes a lie that someone has told them.

I am thinking that I really want to do some sort of linguistic study on my students. I’m not sure that I will actually be allowed to do that, but I have been doing a lot of observation.

For example, a lot of my kids, and the adults also, say “on tomorrow” where I would say “tomorrow.” Example: “The test is on tomorrow.” I was thinking that I wanted to explore who said this and what sort of social/linguistic boundaries were drawn when they used it.

Also, a lot of my kids do not invert their verbs when questioning. Example: “Ms. Curry, what time it is?”

And, like all AAVE speakers, my kids do not know how to conjugate “be.” For example, “Ms. Curry be teaching us about inferences today.” When I say “don’t know how,” I just don’t think they know when it is appropriate to conjugate this. I see “be” in inappropriate places in their essays. I have tried to correct this ALL the time, but it’s not really working.

Anywho, not that anyone reads this, but if any Georgetown student wanted to come do a sociolinguistic study on my kids in Memphis, I would totally allow it.

