This week was very interesting. Ups and downs, goods and bads.

I was teaching the “The Lottery” this week, and one of the character’s wife is a “scold.” One kid asked what that meant, and another student said, “Like Ms. Curry. Makes us do stuff all the time.” I did not give a punishment. He was completely right!

I think I made a breakthrough with one of my students. Not sure. I at least think I know how to make him pay attention in class. He kept falling asleep in class, so I asked him to go stand up for a minute. He went and sat on the bookshelf and was more involved in my class than he had ever been before.

I’ve decided to teach “The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind” to my kids. It’s going to take a while, it’s about 250 pages, but I think that it will be worth it. I’m going to make reading groups, based on their reading levels, and hopefully we can get through it in 6 weeks.

My behavior tracker is going well. The kids hate seeing anything below a B, which really means that I only had to give them one consequence, and they really love it when they get an A. Ms. Curry loves it too. It means her classroom is completely orderly and wonderful.

I’m becoming fluent in 10th grader:
to check: verb. to publicly ridicule someone in a playful or serious manner.
real talk: noun. conversation that is serious. This phrase is usually used when conversation had previously been playful, but now must turn serious: “Real talk, guys, I think I’m going to be sick.”

I will keep you updated with other phrases as I come across them 🙂

My school was featured on the news on Thursday for a fight that they think was related to gangs. There was a gun involved. Mr. A, my favorite veteran teacher at the Dale, helped me scrub gang symbols off of one of my desks this week. Some kid had used a Sharpie. These are the big gangs of Memphis. I just became so broken-hearted. So many of my students have gang-related tattoos on their bodies already. They are 15, 16 years old, and already they are involved in this stuff. I overheard some girls talking about what they had to do to get “in” the other day, when they were talking about what I think is a new gang starting up. These are my babies, and it makes me so angry at rappers, movies, and all that jazz. Everything that encourages my students to further destroy their own lives…Oh, and the Gangster Disciples wear Georgetown gear all the time. Now I’m really upset.

