Hey all,
I thought that I would blog quickly before bed.
Monday, we all checked in, had lunch together, and then went to the National Civil Rights Museum. There, we got to meet Reverend Kyles),
one of the people who was at the Lorraine Hotel when Dr. King was killed. He walked us through the assassination; it was really powerful, even though the museum itself was a little dull. Then, we had dinner at the museum, where we listened to someone from the mayor’s office talk about education in Memphis.Then, when we all got back, a large group of us went out to a bar in Midtown called Celtic Crossing. It was a neat place, but I wasn’t drinking, bars make me nervous, and I was exhausted. I did get to talk to some people though. I discovered that Andy Garden is from Roanoke, Steph loves Harry Potter, etc. It was nice to get to know some people.
Today was a doozy. We had 6 different 1 1/2 hour sessions, including the TFA Core Values, Diversity and Inclusiveness, The Theory of Change, Advancing our Theory of Change, and another one. We went out to dinner, where we listened to an education panel with some powerful people in Memphian education. I learned a lot of great things about what is going on in Memphis–the initiatives that they are taking, how much they are planning on paying teachers, and how invested people are in this place. It is excellent. We got home from dinner, and a bunch of people went out to Beale Street. I didn’t go; I went running instead. However, Memphis has a humidity index of about 150 degrees, and I haven’t been running in a while…I puked. I’m going again tomorrow morning with a guy named Kyle. I think that I need to get back into running hardcore; I think it will help me cope with the stresses of being a teacher.
I’ve discovered that a lot of these people aren’t really taking this seriously. For example, a couple people got highly trashed last night. They came in to the session late this morning. And a bunch of people are going out again. I do understand building relationships and bonding, but I think that it is more important for me to be in here learning.
Finally, my roommate finally came. She was stuck overnight in Chicago at the airport–her flight got delayed due to lightning or something. She’s from Anchorage, AK. She’s not Inuit; she’s Caucasian. She is SUPER nice. I really want to get to know her a little bit more; I think that we could be good friends.
In Atlanta, we are going to be staying at the Olympic Village at Georgia Tech (where the athletes at the 1996 Olympics stayed). So, we are in suites, each have our own bedroom and share a bathroom with one other girl. I’m really pumped.
Ok, that’s it. I’m going to bed.
I love you all, and I can’t wait for July! I will keep you updated!
-Kaitlin
