Well, I’ve decided to take the job. I will be moving to Memphis sometime in mid-July. I haven’t gotten a job yet, but I will be working in Memphis City Schools, teaching secondary English. Not sure if that means high school or middle school. There are perks to both. Middle school means more manageable kids; I’m still bigger than them. High school means better subject matter. Teaching literature to high schoolers is much more fun.

It is going to be a difficult journey. I have heard that it is one of the hardest things that people have ever done. Staying up until crazy hours. Trying to navigate being a new teacher in an inner-city school. Trying to navigate being in a new city. Meeting new people, something I’ve never really been good at. I know that I can do this, but it’s still scary.

I have one more paper to write, and then I graduate. Well, if I pass all of my classes, I graduate. May 21, 2:30 pm. Healy lawn. And then, quickly after that, I go to Memphis for Induction. Then, Atlanta for 5 weeks for Institute. And then I have a break. And then a week in Memphis for Orientation, and then school starts on August 2.

