December 6 Workshop or conference. Was there a conference or workshop you attended that was especially beneficial? Where was it? What did you learn?

The best workshop that I attended was at Georgetown University, for how to use advanced degrees in linguistics, outside of academia. I found it incredibly helpful, considering that I really want to continue doing some sort of linguistics, but I have no interest in publishing or joining the academic rat race. I learned that linguistics degrees are incredibly useful, you just have to know how to properly market yourself.

December 7 Blog find of the year. That gem of a blog you can’t believe you didn’t know about until this year.

The blog that I discovered that is just great is Joy the Baker. It’s a baking blog, but it’s laced with humor, creativity, and just good stories. Joy has really wonderful recipes, and her photography is tops. Her writing is also really great.

