Ok, so I’ve discovered The Best of 2009 Blog Challenge. Every day in December, you write your Best Of thing. Seeing as today is December 3, I am 2 days behind. Therefore, I will catch up now!

December 1 Trip. What was your best trip in 2009?

My best trip in 2009 was the only one that I took (but even if I had taken 15, then I still would have chosen this): Mizak, Haiti, June-July 2009. Although I have been to Haiti before, this trip was much different. The first time that I went to Haiti, my experience there was overshadowed by Sara Beth’s death, and I was thinking more about here than I was really thinking about my experience. We arrived in Port-au-Prince, and subsequently drove 4 hours up the mountains to Mizak. Mizak is a beautiful area, and the people were wonderful. We worked an eye-glass clinic and assisted with a building project in for their medical clinic. I learned a little bit of kreyol, made friends with the children of the pastor with whom we were staying, and really began to feel passionate about the country. I got to play the keyboard (powered by old batteries) at our Sunday church service, walked the countryside to and from the clinic, and learned that 3 women can in fact wash their hair and bodies in one small bucket of water successfully. There is not enough time or space to fully describe everything that I learned in Haiti while I was there, but it was a lot.

December 2 Restaurant moment. Share the best restaurant experience you had this year. Who was there? What made it amazing? What taste stands out in your mind?

My best restaurant moment was at Ben’s Chili Bowl on the U Street Corridor of DC. Not only is this an amazing location, pretty famous, and has pretty amazing chili, I saw Kal Penn there. Everyone knows how big of a House fan I am…And seeing Dr. Kutner behind me was pretty epic. He sat behind me, and had I been a stalker and a bit more crazy, I could have touched him. I was also with my daddy, and we had a very excellent time.

December 3 Article. What’s an article that you read that blew you away? That you shared with all your friends.

I am a bit lost at this one. I read a lot of articles, and I Twitter them often. But what was one that I was truly blown away by? Geez…Ok, after thinking about it for a few minutes, I have decided that it is the The Decade’s 50 Most Important Recordings, by NPR. It’s not an actual article per se, but it is really great. I think that anyone interested in new music should check it out, and anyone interested in critics’ reviews about music should also check it out. For example, I used to judge my sister for liking Lil’ Wayne, but he’s on the list…I listened to him, and realized that he actually has talent.

I’m not sure if I’m actually going to continue with this blog challenge; it seems quite difficult, but I’ll give it a go!

