What am I thankful for?

1. I am thankful for God’s grace and the blessings that he has given me. I am strong, intelligent, able-bodied, and healthy.
2. I am thankful for my family. I am sitting here with my family, my Nanny, and Pat. We’re all just sitting around the fire and chatting. I am thankful that I have these people who can all sit around without getting too angry with each other. I’m glad that we didn’t have to have alcohol in order to be around each other, like many families have to do in order to be around each other.
3. I am thankful for Anna and for Dustin. I am thankful that the two of themĀ have always been there for me, and that they will always be there for me.
4. I am thankful for my kitty, Alvin.
5. I am thankful for Jars of Clay.
6. I am thankful for music, in general. For the piano, for the harpsichord, for the guitar, for the mandolin, for the fiddle.
7. I am thankful for pecan pie and pumpkin rolls.
8. I am thankful for coffee.
9. I am thankful for literature.
10. I am thankful for the puzzles in this world. They make everything more interesting.

I have that we always forget to say “Thanks” except on Thanksgiving Day. It’s sad. It’s sad that we all act so selfish and like we have absolutely nothing, except for a day that the greeting card companies tell us that we have to say thanks. I really wish that we could always be thankful. I think the world would be much calmer, and everything would be a lot easier if everyone didn’t feel so “deprived.”

For flowers that bloom about our feet;
For tender grass, so fresh, so sweet;
For song of bird, and hum of bee;
For all things fair we hear or see,
Father in heaven, we thank Thee!
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

