….I’ll eat you up, I love you so.”

-Where the Wild Things Are.

That was such a beautiful movie. I overheard some women in the restroom after the movie was over, complaining about how bad it was because it strayed from the book. Well, the book had about 10 sentences in it, so of course a 2-hour movie strayed from it. The cinematography was wonderful, and the story was very relevant and touching. The Wild Things wanted to have Max as king of the Wild Things “to keep the sadness away.” All of these Wild Things, and Max, just wanted to keep sadness out of their lives, and I can definitely relate to that. The combination of Maurice Sendak, Dave Eggers, Spike Jonze, and then the legacy of Jim Henson just made this movie tremendous. If you don’t like children’s stories, that’s ok…It’s not really a children’s movie. It’s mostly just a life movie. I’m not very good at writing reviews of anything, but I just wanted relate how I felt about it.

