So. Here I am, sitting in the library, 3.5 hours after my class was over, working on a PowerPoint presentation for a class tomorrow, just so I don’t have to do it later tonight when I get home. I must be home by 9, though. Jim and Pam are getting married on The Office, and I must be in attendance. I have downed Reese’s Cups, red eyes, and lots of water in the past 4 hours, and I’m still exhausted. I have been so tired all week. I think it’s because I’m trying to catch up on all of my schoolwork. For the past couple of weeks, I had kind of let it slide…And then I started getting my Semantics grades back and realized that I can’t just “let it slide” anymore. So, I was up until 4 am doing homework last night, and now, I’m still working.

I’m also listening to Jean Ritchie’s ballads right now. I think it’s also contributing to my un-productivity.

I skipped tutoring at Foundry tonight. Last week, I was awkwardly confronted by my tutee…A 50-something man who asked me about twenty times to marry him, and then he tried to kiss me. He’s Latino, so I was expecting the double-cheek kiss, but when he reached in to kiss my lips, I freaked out. So, I’m not going anymore. I just feel terribly uncomfortable. Even though the tutoring took place at the church, there was no one else there last week, and now it’s getting dark and I would have to walk home alone. I still need to e-mail my coordinator to tell her the problem and why I am not showing up anymore.

Tutoring is going really well with M, though. She’s a 16 year old Latina who is really driven to do something with her life. She’s very much in contrast with her twin sister E, who simply wants to drop out of school. It’s kinda amazing how far M and I have come. Last year at this time, she was skipping tutoring, lying to me about family crises so I wouldn’t come…I don’t really think that I’ve had anything to do with that, but it’s nice to see her development. And who knows. Maybe I’ve made a difference!

Apple Butter Festival in Berkeley Springs, WV, this weekend with the Lawyers. And Redskins. And beautiful fall weather.
🙂

